Banco Santander Madrid, Spain

Shaded and secured

The new headquarters of Banco Santander in the Spanish capital makes an imposing mark on the city’s skyline. The outer façade has a barred effect which screens, protects and shades the interior, while the floor-to-ceiling glazed inner façades capture the light and give the building a sense of spaciousness. The strict security standards were met using the VISS Fire and Janisol C4 systems.

The new headquarters of Banco Santander, formerly Banco Popular, is located in Madrid’s Hortaleza district. With easy access from the nearby motorway exit, the seven- storey building on Calle Abelias soars skywards towards the hot sun of central Spain. The impressive building is centrally located in the semicircular plot of around 10,600 square metres.

The project was put to a competitive tender, in which seven teams proposed designs based on the preliminary plans. The studio Arquitectos Ayala from Madrid made the winning bid, supported by the MC2 Estudio de Ingeniería in the field of construction management. The bank’s vision for the building was one that would clearly communicate – in a way that would be recognisable to users and visitors – the company’s values of discretion, objectivity, strength, service and flexibility. The then Banco Popular also set three parameters as the basis for the design: the optimisation of surfaces and volumes, flexibility of use, as well as achieving LEED certification.
The ceramic coating on the solar reflector tubes in front of the outer façades catches the light and diffuses it into the building at a dimmed level.
16445
square metres of bright and airy work stations
7
-floors

An imposing openness

The entire premises is surrounded by with steel bars, with a security area on the periphery allowing selective access to the site. The floor plan includes three underground levels for the garage and facilities. The ground floor above is where the public areas are found, such as the spacious entrance, foyer, various meeting and conference rooms and office space. Additional office space is towered high on the six floors above. The result is a huge, blocky cuboid structure that – at 95 x 56 metres –is almost twice as long as it is deep. The massive structure is situated on a clear, readable grid, which is characterised by white steel beams and supports. This steel framework, which runs through the entire building, houses a series of open and closed units. These are arranged in a staggered sequence in order to capture more daylight and provide mutual shade.

With its barred façade, the new headquarters of Banco Santander has an austere, defensive look about it. And yet the building also has a certain openness, with a recess on the entrance side that extends six floors up from the ground floor and almost down to the central axis of the building. This recess draws daylight right into the interior of the building, covering several floors. The partially landscaped inner courtyard leads visitors to the central entrance area, which is in the exposed centre of the building.
Volume was also taken out of structure, with a six-storey recess in the front edges on both sides of the building. This allowed the façade surface to be increased, while also protecting the interior from direct sunlight. The rear side of the building is completely enclosed, apart from two square recesses spanning five storeys.

Open interior

The architects also created an open space right at the core of the building, where three large, landscaped atriums flood the building with daylight from the inside. This section of the building opens out into an open and transparent office space with 16,445 square metres of bright and airy work stations. The open design of the space promotes communication and encourages people to work together as a group. The structural design allowed for large distances between each steel support, meaning that the supports do not obstruct the work space. The grid of the supports is 13 x 7.80 metres and tests the limits of structural possibility thanks to its 30 centimetre-thick post-tensioned ceiling panels. The office space is accessed is via a spacious stairwell that is flooded with natural light, creating a bright meeting area that should encourage the use of stairs. Aside from saving energy, reducing the use of lifts also means the floors can be used more flexibly and creates more interaction between the different areas. Walkways, corridors and stairs situated next to the glazed façade mean those inside can see the hustle and bustle of life outside, and vice versa – although the sheer magnitude of the building gives it a life of its own.

Sun-proof façade

The façades of the building are glazed from floor to ceiling. In order to protect the rooms from the strong sunlight outside, the glass installed features a special type of sun protection. On the outside of the building, the construction of the building envelope features a a double- skin façade. The external façades are shielded from direct sunlight by means of horizontal pipes. The ceramic-coated pipes, each measuring six centimetres in diameter, are spaced in rows at a horizontal distance of 17 centimetres from one another. The pipes are held in place by vertical struts every 260 centimetres. These not only reflect solar radiation, but also have a distinctly industrial character that helps to reinforce the defensive look of the building. The ceramic coating of the solar reflector tubes catches and diffuses the light, thus creating a sort of dimming effect. This helps to ensure a controlled level of indirect sunlight that, depending on the angle of incidence, creates a soft play of colours inside the building.
In the centre of the structure around the inner courtyards, sun protection is provided by a series of vertical tubes at ceiling height, creating a sort of canopy. A comprehensive light control system uses blinds and light intensity monitoring to ensure the glare-free use of daylight and the efficient use of artificial light inside the building.

The glass façade is based on the tried-and-tested VISS system, with particular use of the VISS Basic Façade and VISS profile systems. This efficient and visually impressive system solution is designed to be mounted on any kind of support. This meant that the architects could create large expanses of uninterrupted surface when constructing the façades. Each floor has its own maintenance walkway, allowing for adequate maintenance of these huge glass surfaces. The new bank headquarters of Banco Santander is an imposing structure. The composition of the building’s volume with is atriums and recesses; the ingenious design of the façade, and the structural measures for sun-proofing, all serve to maximise the use of daylight while also minimising energy consumption. The result: the building achieved LEED certification with a rating level of no less than Gold. (GB)
On the entrance side, the cuboid structure opens up over several storeys, drawing indirect sunlight right into the interior of the building.
The architects designed a huge, blocky cuboid structure, positioned on a clear, readable grid.
Project details
Client
Banco Popular, Madrid (now: Banco Santander)
Architect
Metal work
INASUS S.L. , Lalín; Proinller, Madrid
Steel profile systems
photography
© Lluis Casals

Banco Santander Madrid, E

Beschützt und beschattet

Imposant markiert der neue Hauptsitz der Banco Santander seine Präsenz. Die Aussenfassade wirkt vergittert – sie schirmt ab, beschützt und beschattet, während die raumhoch verglasten Innenfassaden das Licht einfangen und den Bau öffnen. Mit den Systemen VISS Fire und Janisol C4 konnte man dem hohen Sicherheitsstandard gerecht werden.

Der neue Hauptsitz der Banco Santander, ehemals Banco Popular, liegt im Madrider Stadtteil Hortaleza. Gut erschlossen durch die Autobahnausfahrt in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft reckt sich das Gebäude siebengeschossig an der Calle Abelias der heissen Sonne Zentralspaniens entgegen. Das eindrückliche Gebäude steht zentral inmitten der halbkreisförmigen Parzelle von rund 10.600 Quadratmetern Fläche.

Für das Projekt wurde ein Wettbewerb ausgeschrieben. Aus den ausgewählten Vorstudien entwickelten sieben Teams ihre Konzepte.
Das Studio Arquitectos Ayala aus Madrid ging als Gewinner hervor, im Bereich Baumanagement unterstützt durch das MC2 Estudio de Ingeniería. Der Bank schwebte ein Gebäude vor, das auf erkennbare Weise für Benutzer und Besucher die Unternehmenswerte kommuniziert: Diskretion, Sachlichkeit, Stärke, Service und Flexibilität. Ebenso legte die damalige Banco Popular drei Parameter als Grundlage für das Design fest: Optimierung von Oberflächen und Volumen, Flexibilität in der Nutzung sowie das Erreichen der LEED-Zertifizierung.
Banco Santander Madrid, E - Beschützt und beschattet
Die keramische Beschichtung der Solarreflektor-Rohre vor den Aussenfassaden fängt Licht ein und reflektiert es mit gedimmter Helligkeit ins Gebäudeinnere. 
16445
Quadratmeter Fläche für helle Arbeitsplätze.
7
-geschössig

Geöffneter Monolith

Das gesamte Grundstück ist mit stählernen Stäben umzäunt. Ein an der Peripherie platzierter Portierbereich gewährt selektiv Einlass. Das Raumprogramm schliesst drei Untergeschosse für Garage und Einrichtungen ein. Darüber liegt ein Erdgeschoss mit öffentlichen Bereichen wie dem grosszügigen Eingang, der Erschliessung, diversen Besprechungs- und Konferenzräumen sowie Büroflächen. Weitere Büroflächen türmen sich mit den darüberliegenden sechs Etagen auf. Entstanden ist ein riesiger, blockartiger Kubus, der im Grundriss fast doppelt so lang ist wie tief: 95 x 56 Meter. Dem wuchtigen Baukörper liegt ein klares, ablesbares Raster zugrunde, das durch weisse Stahlträger und Stützen geprägt wird. Innerhalb dieses Stahlgerippes, das den ganzen Bau durchzieht, sind offene und geschlossene Einheiten erkennbar. Diese sind versetzt angeordnet, um mehr Tageslicht einzufangen und sich gegenseitig zu beschatten.

Durch seine vergittert anmutende Fassade wirkt der neue Hauptsitz der Banco Santander nüchtern und abwehrend. Doch der Monolith öffnet sich: Eingangsseitig weist der Bau einen Einschnitt auf, der vom Erdgeschoss sechs Etagen in die Höhe und fast bis zur mittigen Gebäudeachse in die Tiefe reicht. Dieser Einschnitt bringt Tageslicht über mehrere Geschosse bis weit ins Gebäudeinnere. Der teils begrünte Innenhof führt die Besucher zum zentralen Eingangsbereich, der mitten im Gebäude unter freiem Himmel liegt.
Auch seitlich an den vorderen Gebäudekanten wurden dem Kubus jeweils über sechs Geschosse Volumen entnommen. Dadurch konnte die Fassadenoberfläche erhöht und gleichzeitig vor direkter Sonnenbestrahlung geschützt werden. Die Rückseite des Baus bleibt bis auf zwei quadratische Ausschnitte, die über fünf Etagen in die Höhe reichen, verschlossen.

Innere Offenheit

Auch im Kern öffnet sich das Gebäude: Drei grosse begrünte Lichthöfe fluten den Bau von innen heraus mit Tageslicht. Innerhalb dieses Schemas entfaltet sich eine transparente und offene Bürolandschaft mit 16.445 Quadratmetern Fläche für helle Arbeitsplätze. Die offene Gestaltung des Raums fördert Kommunikation und Interaktion für Gruppenarbeit. Ermöglicht wurden die stützenfreien Flächen durch die bauliche Struktur mit grossen Spannweiten zwischen den Stahlstützen. Das Raster der Stützen beträgt 13 x 7,80 Meter und wurde mithilfe der 30 Zentimeter dicken nachgespannten Deckenplatten statisch maximal ausgereizt. Die vertikale Erschliessung erfolgt über grosszügige, natürlich belichtete Treppen. Diese hellen Begegnungszonen sollen die Treppennutzung fördern. Ungeachtet der Energieeinsparung, wenn die Aufzüge nicht für alle Bewegungen verwendet werden, verbessert dies auch die Flexibilität bei der Nutzung der Stockwerke und die Wechselbeziehung der verschiedenen Bereiche. Gehwege, Korridore und Treppen nahe der verglasten Fassade machen das emsige Treiben im Gebäude selbst wie auch von aussen sichtbar. Als Gesamtvolumen bildet der Bau einen Organismus in sich selbst.

Fassade als Sonnenschutz

Die Fassaden des Gebäudes sind raumhoch verglast. Um die Räume dennoch vor der starken Sonneneinstrahlung zu schützen, ist die Verglasung mit unterschiedlich gestaltetem Sonnenschutz versehen: Zur Gebäudeaussenseite besteht die Konstruktion der Gebäudehülle aus einer Doppelhaut. Die aussenliegenden Fassaden sind mittels horizontaler Rohre vor direkter Sonneneinstrahlung abgeschirmt. Die mit Keramik ummantelten Rohre von je sechs Zentimetern Durchmesser reihen sich dort in einem horizontalen Abstand von 17 Zentimetern aneinander. Alle 260 Zentimeter werden die Rohre durch vertikale Streben gefasst. Es handelt sich dabei um Solarreflektoren, Elemente mit einem klaren industriellen Charakter, die den abwehrenden Look des Gebäudes verstärken. Die keramische Beschichtung der Solarreflektor-Rohre fängt Licht ein und reflektiert es mit gedimmter Helligkeit. Sie sorgt so für ein kontrolliertes, indirektes Sonnenlicht, das je nach Einfallswinkel der Sonne ein Farbspiel mit einem samtigen Erscheinungsbild bietet.
Innerhalb des Gebäudekörpers, zu den Innenhöfen hin, wird der Sonnenschutz auf Höhe der Deckenstirnseiten einem Vordach gleich durch vertikale Rohre gebildet. Die blendfreie Nutzung des Tageslichts und der effiziente Gebrauch von Kunstlicht werden durch ein umfassendes Lichtsteuersystem für Jalousien und Lichtintensität im Inneren geregelt.

Die raumabschliessende Glasfassade basiert auf dem bewährten VISS System: Hier wurden die Profilsysteme VISS Basic Fassade und VISS Fire Fassade angewendet. Diese wirtschaftliche wie ästhetische Systemlösung ist prädestiniert für trägerunabhängige Fassadenkonstruktionen. Damit konnten die Fassadenflächen mit sehr grossen Spannweiten umgesetzt werden. Für den adäquaten Unterhalt der riesigen Glasflächen umrunden Wartungsgänge jedes Geschoss. Der neue Bankhauptsitz der Banco Santander ist ein imposantes Gebäude. Die Komposition des Gebäudevolumens mit Lichthöfen und Einschnitten, die ausgeklügelte Gestaltung der Fassade und die konstruktiven Massnahmen zur Beschattung dienen ganz der Maximierung der Tageslichtnutzung bei gleichzeitiger Minimierung des Energieaufwands. Resultat: Das Gebäude erhielt die LEED-Zertifizierung in der Kategorie GOLD. (GB)
Banco Santander Madrid, E - Beschützt und beschattet
Eingangsseitig öffnet sich der Kubus, um dem indirekten Tageslicht über mehrere Geschosse bis weit ins Gebäudeinnere Einlass zu gewähren.
Banco Santander Madrid, E - Beschützt und beschattet
Die Architekten entwarfen einen riesigen, blockartigen Kubus,
dem ein ablesbares Raster zugrunde liegt.
Bautafel
BAuherr
Banco Popular, Madrid (heute: Banco Santander)
Architekten
Metallbau
INASUS S.L., Lalín; Proinller, Madrid
Stahlprofilsystem
Fotografie
© Lluis Casals